What is performance coaching?

Performance coaching deals with everything that happens outside of training, competition or professional life in order to create optimal conditions for it. For brain athletes, the topics of exercise, nutrition, regeneration and mindset are at least as important as they are for competitive athletes. During performance coaching, I will show you how you can achieve greater productivity through healthy routines. How exactly these elements look for you or your team depends on what you already bring with you. We build on that together.

e3b7afa3-b485-4b14-ad10-594789aa0194

Movement

Sitting is the new smoking. Most brain athletes find themselves in a position that we have not come to know in our evolution. If you do not incorporate short breaks and longer exercise units into your everyday life, you run the risk of developing poor posture.

With regular exercise, a better body awareness can be developed. More self-confidence and higher physical performance ensure more metabolic flexibility in your brain. This means that your brain can use not only glucose, but also the lactate produced during exercise and ketone bodies, the production of which is stimulated by certain nutritional methods. This results in increased cognitive performance and greater wellbeing.

 

Nutrition

What does healthy eating mean for brain athletes? Energy drinks and sugar? Hardly ... The brain of a professional chess player alone consumes around 5000 kcal on a day of competition. Have you ever seen a chess player with candy in hand?

 

The brain is able to draw energy from the periphery of the body and use various energy sources. High food frequency, short chain carbohydrates, and processed foods limit this ability. By eating less frequently, having longer times without eating and, above all, a diet that saturates with the help of natural foods and supports your body through micronutrient density, you give your body and, above all, your brain what it really needs. Let your brain pull!

Recovery

„Sleep is the swiss army knife of  health“ – Matthew Walker

Those who train hard should also regenerate hard. Healthy sleep creates the basis for learning new movement patterns and courses of action. Through healthy sleep, we ensure that we do not become demented, that our muscles grow and that our systems remain in balance.
Those who do not have a restful sleep manage to return to this through routines and the targeted use of food and exercise. The result is increased cognitive performance and a significantly increased sense of wellbeing.

Mindset

The right mindset is not only important in competition. During the time when there is no competition, you can develop personally by setting and implementing so-called SMART goals. Above all, the long term plays a role here. Those who improve by 0.1% a day can achieve a lot in a few weeks. In addition to the focus on the sport, the setting of goals primarily relates to the integration of the areas of exercise, nutrition and regeneration. 
Further measures for more balance are meditation and breathing exercises. They can be used to modulate the vegetative nervous system, so that after a little practice you are more focused and balanced.

Get to know me!

en_USEnglish

Was ist performance coaching?

Performance Coaching befasst sich mit allem, was abseits von Training, Wettkampf oder Berufsleben geschieht, um optimale Voraussetzungen dafür zu schaffen. Für Gehirnathleten sind die Themen Bewegung, Ernährung, Regeneration und Mindset mindestens genauso wichtig, wie für Leistungssportler. Beim Performance Coaching zeige ich dir, wie du durch gesunde Routinen mehr Leistungsfähigkeit erreichst. Wie diese Elemente für dich oder dein Team genau aussehen, hängt von dem ab, was du schon mitbringst. Darauf bauen wir gemeinsam auf.

e3b7afa3-b485-4b14-ad10-594789aa0194

Bewegung

Sitzen ist das neue Rauchen. Die meisten Gehirnathleten finden sich in einer Position wieder, die wir in unserer Evolution nicht kennengelernt haben. Wer nicht mehrmals am Tag kurze Pausen und längere Bewegungseinheiten in seinen Alltag einbaut, birgt die Gefahr Haltungsschäden zu entwickeln.

Mit regelmäßiger Bewegung lässt sich ein besseres Körpergefühl entwickeln. Mehr Selbstbewusstsein und eine höhere körperliche Leistungsfähigkeit sorgen für mehr metabolische Flexibilität deines Gehirns. Das bedeutet dein Gehirn kann neben Glukose, auch das  bei Bewegung entstehende Laktat sowie Ketonkörper, deren Produktion durch bestimmte Ernährungsmethoden angeregt werden, nutzen. Daraus resultiert eine erhöhte kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit und mehr Wohlbefinden.

 

Ernährung

Was bedeutet gesunde Ernährung für Gehirnathleten? Energy-Drinks und Zucker? Wohl kaum… Allein das Gehirn eines professionellen Schachspielers verbraucht an einem Wettkampftag circa 5000 kcal. Hast du schonmal einen Schachspieler mit Süßigkeiten in der Hand gesehen?

 

Das Hirn kann, als eines der wichtigsten Organe, die Energie aus der Peripherie des Körpers ziehen und verschiedene Energieträger nutzen. Hohe Nahrungsfrequenz, kurzkettige Kohlenhydrate und verarbeitete Lebensmittel schränken diese Fähigkeit ein. Durch weniger häufiges Essen, längere Zeiten ohne Nahrungsaufnahme und vor allem einer Ernährung, die mit Hilfe von natürlichen Lebensmitteln sättigt und durch Mikronährstoffdichte deinen Körper unterstützt, gibst du deinem Körper, was er wirklich braucht. Lass dein Gehirn ziehen!

Regeneration

„Sleep is the swiss army knife of  health“ – Matthew Walker

Wer hart trainiert, sollte auch hart regenerieren. Gesunder Schlaf schafft die Basis für das Lernen neuer Bewegungsmuster und Handlungsabläufe. Wir sorgen durch gesunden Schlaf dafür, dass wir nicht dement werden, dass unsere Muskulatur wächst und dass unsere Systeme im Gleichgewicht bleiben.
Wer keinen erholsamen Schlaf hat, schafft es durch Routinen, das gezielte Einsetzen von Nahrungsmitteln und Bewegung zu diesem zurückzukehren. Das Resultat ist eine erhöhte kognitive Leistungsfähigkeit und ein deutlich gesteigertes Wohlbefinden.

Mindset

Das richtige Mindset ist nicht nur im Wettkampf wichtig. In der Zeit in der kein Wettkampf stattfindet, kann man sich durch das Setzen und Durchführen von sogenannten SMART-Goals persönlich weiterentwickeln. Vor allem die Langfristigkeit spielt hier eine Rolle. Wer sich täglich um 0,1% verbessert, kann in wenigen Wochen einiges erreichen. Dabei bezieht sich das Setzen der Ziele neben dem Fokus auf die Sportart vor allem auf die Integration der Bereiche Bewegung, Ernährung und Regeneration. 
Weitere Maßnahmen für mehr Ausgeglichenheit stellen Meditation und Atemübungen dar. Mit ihnen lässt sich das vegetative Nervensystem modulieren, sodass sie nach einiger Übung zu mehr Fokus und Balance sind.

Lern mich kennen!

de_DEGerman